Wyoming Area Codes

Wyoming is an American state located in the Rocky Mountain States region. The state is limited to the state of Montana to the north, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Utah and Colorado to the south, and Utah and Idaho to the west. Although it has the tenth largest territory in the United States, Wyoming has the least population and, consequently, one of the lowest population densities.

Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area

One of the reasons for this may be its geographical location, since it is not located close to the coast. Its geography is characterized by plateau regions and mountainous areas. Wyoming is home to the largest nature reserve in the United States: Yellowstone National Park.

  • Abbreviationfinder.org: Find major meanings of abbreviation WY including the most common definition – Wyoming. Also see the list of other meanings in addition to Wyoming.
  • Countryaah.com: Provides ranking of top ten cities and towns in Wyoming by population. Also includes alphabetical list of and profile of each city of Wyoming.

Much of its territory is arid and receives less than 250 mm of rain per year. For this reason, temperatures in the State tend to be more extreme than in other regions of the country, resulting in a great thermal amplitude.

Wyoming’s main economic sector is undoubtedly tourism. In 2002 alone, around six million people visited its monuments and national parks. In addition to Yellowstone National Park, the other main tourist attractions are the Grand Teton National Park, the Devils Tower National Monument and the Fossil Butte National Monument. Another sector of fundamental importance is agriculture.

The population of the State is mostly composed of whites (88.9%), mainly Germans and English, and Protestants (53%). Wyoming’s capital and largest city is Cheyenne, which has a relatively small population: 55,362 residents (2005).

Map of Area Codes in Wyoming

Area Code Map of Wyoming

Wyoming consists of the following area codes. Click on the area code to show the cities in that area code.

Wyoming Area Codes by County

The area code of 307 is used in the following 23 counties:

  1. Albany, WY
  2. Big Horn, WY
  3. Campbell, WY
  4. Carbon, WY
  5. Converse, WY
  6. Crook, WY
  7. Fremont, WY
  8. Goshen, WY
  9. Hot Springs, WY
  10. Johnson, WY
  11. Laramie, WY
  12. Lincoln, WY
  13. Natrona, WY
  14. Niobrara, WY
  15. Park, WY
  16. Platte, WY
  17. Sheridan, WY
  18. Sublette, WY
  19. Sweetwater, WY
  20. Teton, WY
  21. Uinta, WY
  22. Washakie, WY
  23. Weston, WY