North Dakota Area Codes

Located in the Midwest region of the country, North Dakota is one of the 50 American states. The state is limited to Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to the south, Montana to the west, and Canada to the north. Located in North Dakota, the city of Rubgy is considered the geographic center of North America.

Bison on the Little Missouri River in Theodore Roosevelt National Park

  • Find major meanings of abbreviation ND including the most common definition – North Dakota. Also see the list of other meanings in addition to North Dakota.
  • Provides ranking of top ten cities and towns in North Dakota by population. Also includes alphabetical list of and profile of each city of North Dakota.

After several years under British rule, the region finally came under the control of the United States. In 1858, the country created the territory of Dakota, which comprised the present states of South Dakota, North Dakota and part of Minnesota. During the 19th century, the region started to develop significantly due to agriculture, encouraged by the construction of many railways. The development caused population growth in the region, until on November 2, 1889, the American government created the states of South Dakota and North Dakota.

The state has few forests, which make up only 1% of its territory. Much of its terrain is quite flat, which makes it difficult to form large lakes. Because the State is far from large bodies of water, its climate is very unstable; temperatures vary dramatically. Winters are usually very cold, since the state is located in the far north of the United States, and summers are hot.

Part of its economy is based on agriculture: North Dakota is the largest producer of sunflower seeds and the second producer of wheat in the country. Among other important sources of income, we can mention tourism, oil extraction, trade and the provision of government services.

Map of Area Codes in North Dakota

Area Code Map of North Dakota

North Dakota consists of the following area codes. Click on the area code to show the cities in that area code.

North Dakota Area Codes by County

The area code of 701 is used in the following 53 counties:

  1. Adams, ND
  2. Barnes, ND
  3. Benson, ND
  4. Billings, ND
  5. Bottineau, ND
  6. Bowman, ND
  7. Burke, ND
  8. Burleigh, ND
  9. Cass, ND
  10. Cavalier, ND
  11. Dickey, ND
  12. Divide, ND
  13. Dunn, ND
  14. Eddy, ND
  15. Emmons, ND
  16. Foster, ND
  17. Golden Valley, ND
  18. Grand Forks, ND
  19. Grant, ND
  20. Griggs, ND
  21. Hettinger, ND
  22. Kidder, ND
  23. Lamoure, ND
  24. Logan, ND
  25. Mchenry, ND
  26. Mcintosh, ND
  27. Mckenzie, ND
  28. Mclean, ND
  29. Mercer, ND
  30. Morton, ND
  31. Mountrail, ND
  32. Nelson, ND
  33. Oliver, ND
  34. Pembina, ND
  35. Pierce, ND
  36. Ramsey, ND
  37. Ransom, ND
  38. Renville, ND
  39. Richland, ND
  40. Rolette, ND
  41. Sargent, ND
  42. Sheridan, ND
  43. Sioux, ND
  44. Slope, ND
  45. Stark, ND
  46. Steele, ND
  47. Stutsman, ND
  48. Towner, ND
  49. Traill, ND
  50. Walsh, ND
  51. Ward, ND
  52. Wells, ND
  53. Williams, ND