Europe Countries and Capitals

Europe’s population is concentrated in Italy, Germany, France, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. Europe is the second smallest continent on the planet, and, its territory is quite fragmented, as it is divided into 50 countries. The total population in Europe is approximately 742.5 million residents (2013). Taking into account the limited territory of the continent, it can be said that it is quite populated, because it has a demographic density of 72.9 residents /Km 2 .

The European population has its origin ethnically linked to different peoples, especially: Anglo-Saxons, Scandinavians, Slavs, Germans and Latinos, although there are countries whose population originates from miscegenation between the aforementioned human groups.

Christianity (Catholics, Protestants and Orthodox) is the religion practiced by the majority of the European population, which is distributed irregularly in the territory. There are areas where the concentration is very high, with more than 300 residents /km 2 , and in others they have a demographic density below 1 residents /km 2 .

The most populated part of Europe is located in central-west, a region that stands out especially for industrial and commercial production. The region is home to countries such as Italy, Netherlands, France, United Kingdom and Germany.

To the north of the continent, a region close to the Arctic circle, the population is very restricted, a condition imposed by the extremely cold climate.

Among Europe’s most populous countries, Russia ranks first, with about 142 million residents, then Germany (82 million), France (64 million), the United Kingdom (63 million), Italy (61 million), Spain (47 million) and Ukraine (44 million). The highest population density in Europe belongs to the Republic of Malta, with around 1,344 residents /km 2 .

Check abbreviationfinder for list of all acronyms related to Europe.

If you are looking for the international dialing code for a particular country of Europe, you can check the following table. European countries are listed in alphabetical order. Also included are capital cities are ISO codes. To find complete information about countries in Europe, please look at

Europe Countries and Flags

# Country Name Capital International Area Code 2 Letter Code 3 Letter Code
1 Albania Tirana 355 AL ALB
2 Andorra Andorra la Vella 376 AD AND
3 Austria Vienna 43 AT AUT
4 Belarus Minsk 375 BY BLR
5 Belgium Brussels 32 BE BEL
6 Bosnia and Herzegovina Sarajevo 387 BA BIH
7 Bulgaria Sofia 359 BG BGR
8 Croatia Zagreb 385 HR HRV
9 Cyprus Nicosia 357 CY CYP
10 Czech Republic Prague 420 CZ CZE
11 Denmark Copenhagen 45 DK DNK
12 Estonia Tallinn 372 EE EST
13 Faroe Islands Tórshavn 298 FO FRO
14 Finland Helsinki 358 FI FIN
15 France Paris 33 FR FRA
16 Germany Berlin 49 DE DEU
17 Gibraltar Gibraltar 350 GI GIB
18 Greece Athens 30 GR GRC
19 Hungary Budapest 36 HU HUN
20 Iceland Reykjavík 354 IS ISL
21 Ireland Dublin 353 IE IRL
22 Isle of Man Douglas, Isle of Man 44 IM IMN
23 Italy Rome 39 IT ITA
24 Kosovo Pristina 381 XK XKX
25 Latvia Riga 371 LV LVA
26 Liechtenstein Vaduz 423 LI LIE
27 Lithuania Vilnius 370 LT LTU
28 Luxembourg Luxembourg 352 LU LUX
29 Macedonia Skopje 389 MK MKD
30 Malta Valletta 356 MT MLT
31 Moldova Chişinău 373 MD MDA
32 Monaco Monaco 377 MC MCO
33 Montenegro Podgorica 382 ME MNE
34 Netherlands Amsterdam 31 NL NLD
35 Norway Oslo 47 NO NOR
36 Poland Warsaw 48 PL POL
37 Portugal Lisbon 351 PT PRT
38 Romania Bucharest 40 RO ROU
39 Russia Moscow 7 RU RUS
40 San Marino San Marino 378 SM SMR
41 Serbia Belgrade 381 RS SRB
42 Slovakia Bratislava 421 SK SVK
43 Slovenia Ljubljana 386 SI SVN
44 Spain Madrid 34 ES ESP
45 Sweden Stockholm 46 SE SWE
46 Switzerland Berne 41 CH CHE
47 Ukraine Kiev 380 UA UKR
48 United Kingdom London 44 GB GBR
49 Vatican Vatican City 39 VA VAT

Time zones

The United Kingdom, Ireland, Portugal and Iceland have assigned themselves to Western European Time (GMT / WET), which is identical to Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). It corresponds to the mean solar time at the prime meridian, which runs through London and eastern England.

All Central and some Western and Eastern European countries use Central European Time (UTC + one hour), these are Spain, France, Andorra, Monaco, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Germany, Poland, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, San Marino, the Vatican, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Malta and Albania.

The Eastern European Time (UTC + 2 hours) use Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Ukraine, Romania, Moldavia, Bulgaria and Greece.

The Moscow time (. Tax +3 hours) use Belarus and much of European Russia and Turkey.

Most states use a daylight saving time from late March to late October, with clocks advancing one hour over that period. This applies to all EU countries, including most of the European non-EU countries, but not Iceland, Russia, Belarus and Turkey.

Cities and metropolises

The cities and municipalities form the smallest administrative units in the administrative structure of the states. Lisbon was one of the first cosmopolitan metropolises of modern times, as it was the center of a great colonial empire in the age of imperialism. In 1950, four cities in today’s European Union were among the 20 largest in the world. Since then, European cities have barely grown, and in some cases have lost their population. These four largest EU cities today were London in second place behind New York, Paris in fourth place behind Tokyo, and Milan and Naples in 13th and 19th place.

But in the second half of the 20th century, the cities of the rest of the world, especially those in developing countries, e.g. Mexico City, Manila or São Paulo, in the population and now lead the table in the world. Despite stagnation in older cities, there are numerous other processes in spatial development in the 21st century, such as the gentrification of inner cities.