Arkansas Area Codes

Arkansas is one of the fifty American states. It is located in the southeastern region of the country, bordering the states of Missouri to the north, Louisiana to the south, Tennessee to the east, and Oklahoma to the west. The first European peoples to explore the region were the Spanish. France came to dominate the territory in 1800, having sold the same to the United States in 1803. Arkansas was only elevated to the status of State in 1819.

Little Rock Central School

  • Find major meanings of abbreviation AR including the most common definition – Arkansas. Also see the list of other meanings in addition to Arkansas.
  • Provides ranking of top ten cities and towns in Arkansas by population. Also includes alphabetical list of and profile of each city of Arkansas.

Industry, trade, agriculture and mining are the main activities economic practices practiced in the State. Its climate is very mild, with average temperatures of 2 ºC in winter and 27 ºC in summer. The largest ethnic groups present in Arkansas are Americans (15.9% of the population), African Americans (14.2%), Irish (9.5%), Germans (9.3%) and English (7.9 %).

The capital and largest city in the state is Little Rock.

Map of Area Codes in Arkansas

Area Code Map of Arkansas

Arkansas consists of the following area codes. Click on the area code to show the cities in that area code.

Arkansas Area Codes by County

The area code of 479 is used in the following 15 counties:

  1. Benton, AR
  2. Carroll, AR
  3. Crawford, AR
  4. Franklin, AR
  5. Johnson, AR
  6. Logan, AR
  7. Madison, AR
  8. Newton, AR
  9. Polk, AR
  10. Pope, AR
  11. Pulaski, AR
  12. Scott, AR
  13. Sebastian, AR
  14. Washington, AR
  15. Yell, AR

The area code of 501 is used in the following 15 counties:

  1. Cleburne, AR
  2. Conway, AR
  3. Faulkner, AR
  4. Garland, AR
  5. Hot Spring, AR
  6. Independence, AR
  7. Jefferson, AR
  8. Lonoke, AR
  9. Perry, AR
  10. Pope, AR
  11. Pulaski, AR
  12. Saline, AR
  13. Van Buren, AR
  14. White, AR
  15. Yell, AR

The area code of 870 is used in the following 59 counties:

  1. Arkansas, AR
  2. Ashley, AR
  3. Baxter, AR
  4. Boone, AR
  5. Bradley, AR
  6. Calhoun, AR
  7. Carroll, AR
  8. Chicot, AR
  9. Clark, AR
  10. Clay, AR
  11. Cleburne, AR
  12. Cleveland, AR
  13. Columbia, AR
  14. Craighead, AR
  15. Crittenden, AR
  16. Cross, AR
  17. Dallas, AR
  18. Desha, AR
  19. Drew, AR
  20. Fulton, AR
  21. Grant, AR
  22. Greene, AR
  23. Hempstead, AR
  24. Hot Spring, AR
  25. Howard, AR
  26. Independence, AR
  27. Izard, AR
  28. Jackson, AR
  29. Jefferson, AR
  30. Lafayette, AR
  31. Lawrence, AR
  32. Lee, AR
  33. Lincoln, AR
  34. Little River, AR
  35. Lonoke, AR
  36. Madison, AR
  37. Marion, AR
  38. Miller, AR
  39. Mississippi, AR
  40. Monroe, AR
  41. Montgomery, AR
  42. Nevada, AR
  43. Newton, AR
  44. Ouachita, AR
  45. Phillips, AR
  46. Pike, AR
  47. Poinsett, AR
  48. Polk, AR
  49. Pope, AR
  50. Prairie, AR
  51. Randolph, AR
  52. Saint Francis, AR
  53. Searcy, AR
  54. Sevier, AR
  55. Sharp, AR
  56. Stone, AR
  57. Union, AR
  58. White, AR
  59. Woodruff, AR