Asia - Africa - Europe - N. America - S. America - Middle East - Oceania

You are here: Home > St. Lucia

Area Codes in St. Lucia


The island of Saint Lucia in the Caribbean was a British colony before independence in 1979. The population consists mainly of descendants of African slaves. English is the official language, but after earlier French influence, many also speak the Creole language patois. Tourism has been about banana cultivation as the main source of income on the tropical volcanic island.
  • Abbreviationfinder: Brief profiles of St. Lucia, including geography, history, politics, economics as well as common acronyms about this country.

Geography and climate

Saint Lucia is the second largest island in the Lovar Islands (Windward Islands) within the Small Antilles archipelago of the Caribbean (Caribbean). Saint Lucia is a mountainous island of volcanic origin.

On the mountain sides, tropical rainforests grow and the island is bordered by elongated beaches. The island's most famous landmarks are the twin mountains Gros Piton and Petit Piton, which rise like two high sugar peaks just south of the town of Soufrière in the southwest.

The temperature in Saint Lucia is roughly the same year round, around 25 degrees. The island has a dry period, which runs from January to April, and the rainy season lasts from May to November.

The amount of rain increases with the height above the sea. Periodically, so-called pass winds blow from cheese or northeast. Saint Lucia is sometimes affected by tropical hurricanes, which can cause flooding and landslides in steep terrain.

Geography and climate of St. Lucia


616 km2 (2018)


Swedish –5 hours

Capital with number of inhabitants

Castries 22,200 (with suburbs, estimated 2014)

Other major cities

Micoud, Vieux Fort, Soufriere

Highest mountain

Mount Gimie (950 m asl)


Copyright 2020 All City Codes. All Rights Reserved