Best Cycling Sprinters of All Time

From 4 to 26 May, 2013 is the 96th edition of the Giro d’Italia held. Which drivers are the main contenders for this bike wins in the sprints?


In the past, there were included in the Giro trail often many opportunities for sprinters. The most successful sprinter in the history of the Giro d’Italia, Mario Cipollini. He won 42 stages in the Tour of Italy. His first Giro stage victory he achieved in 1989, his last two stage victories he took in 2003. His successful participation in the Giro was in 2002. He took that in six stage wins and the overall victory in the points classification.
Another sprint greatness in the recent Giro history was Alessandro Petacchi. He picked up during his career 27 Giro stage wins, even if he later had them five at hand because of a doping suspension. His most successful Giro was in 2004. Petacchi picked up impressive number of nine stage wins in the Giro. That year he won the points classification. In 2013, it seems clearly fewer opportunities for the sprinters in the Giro roster, since the glory years Cipollini and Petacchi. Below is an overview of the main sprinters participating in the 2013 Giro.

Mark Cavendish

Briton Mark Cavendish is arguably the best sprinter of his generation and he also seems to be on track to become the best sprinter of all time. Cavendish rode the Giro for the first time in 2008 and then took two stage victories.Over the years, he won a total of twelve Giro stages, although it should be said that this ten “normal” phases and two team time trials. All four times as Cavendish started the Giro, he has won several stages. It is also expected that in 2013 he again some tours will win. Yet expires 2013 season so far, only a little less successful than in previous seasons. This has partly to do with his new team, Omega Pharma – Quick Step. In the big games, the team is often yet to put on a good “train” to guide Cavendish to victory. Given the great qualities as a driver in the team, during the period that for a little more common practice, certainly will succeed.

John Degenkolb

24-year-old German sprinter John Degenkolb in the 2013 Giro spearhead of the Dutch Argos-Shimano team in the bunch sprints. He is one of the most talented young sprinters in the world. In 2012, he won five stages in the Tour of Spain. Degenkolb has many other sprinters two major advantages. First, he has a team that is very well suited to start him in the sprint. As second Degenkolb has the capacity not only to perform in the plate final, but also in hilly finals. In particular, this second advantage probably suit him very well in the Giro, because often incorporated hills of Italy in the final stages.

Matthew Goss

The 26-year-old Australian Matthew Goss armed with cycling water bottles will be played by Orica-Green Edge in the 2013 Giro as a spearhead in the bunch sprints. Goss won in the last two Giro rides. The most important victory of his career was the victory in the classic Milan-San Remo in 2011. In the Giro choice of Orica-Green Edge two other good sprinters who can support Goss in the bunch sprints Jens Keukeleire and Leigh Howard.

Italian sprinter

There are also a number of Italian sprinters who prey on the victory stage in the Giro. These include: Roberto Ferrari, Giacomo Nizzolo, Francesco Chicci, Sacha Modolo and Elia Viviani. Although not to the absolute world of sprinters guild properly, they must not be regarded as a chance in the fight for stage victories in the Giro. Roberto Ferrari succeeded, for example, in 2012 to win a Giro ride.

Other Sprinter

Other sprinters as contenders for stage victories in the Giro include Spaniard Francisco Ventoso and the French sprint talent Nacer Bouhanni.

Favorites Point Positions?

For the Giro 2013 is relatively not many extraordinary opportunities for the sprinters, sprinters should not necessarily be the big favorites for the points jersey. The main classification riders are probably too big contender for overall victory in the points classification. In 2012, for example, a classification riders won the points jersey for the sprinter Mark Cavendish. In the years before the victory was in this ranking also remarkably often a classification rider and not a sprinter.


This overview of the main sprinters in the Giro in 2013 based on a preliminary start list. Because of the many changes that may take place in the start list, this article will still be adjusted regularly.